Our History

Saint Nicholas School is located in Struthers, a suburb of Youngstown, Ohio. It was the parish school originally for Saint Nicholas, a Roman Catholic parish, which was established in 1865 and now renamed Christ Our Savior parish, which was established July 1, 2011, with the merger of St. Nicholas Parish and Holy Trinity Parish. The original school building was built in 1928 and was staffed entirely by Sisters of the Ursuline Order under the direction of the first principal, sister Charles Hoffman, O.S.U. As enrollment increased through the years, more Ursuline Sisters as well as lay teachers joined the teaching staff. Additions to the building to accommodate the growing enrollment were completed in 1950.

Today, Saint Nicholas School continues to be an exceptional educational institution in which Catholic teaching, worship, and social concern are integrated into the experience of the community, thus forming a complete educational background. This educational process at St. Nicholas strives to develop each student’s spiritual, social, intellectual, and moral growth to its greatest potential.